Blog Manifesto – Steak sandwiches

 

Right, I’ve had ideas left right and centre about a food blog but we don’t have time to spend hours upon hours reading rambling blog posts do we? Here’s what I’m going to do

ONE. I’m going to keep this simple and easy to follow.

TWO. After that I can finally get round to writing down the recipes I try somewhere, I’ve lost count of the number of things I try once and never again because I never made a note.

THREE. Lastly I hope it’ll be a way to interact with other home cooks and learn a lot more out the way

..Oh yeah and eat great food!

SO before I forget about my tea last night

NAME: Steak sandwich and sweet potato chips

INGREDIENTS: Sirloin steak, Caramelised onion chutney (or fry some onions), Wholegrain mustard, Mixed leaves (Rocket, watercress, spinach), Mayonaise, Ciabatta, Sweet potatoes, Olive oil, Balsamic vinegar

GOOD FOR: Friday night at home, making a steak go a bit further

METHOD: ONE Preheat oven to 180 (fan) TWO Peel your sweet potatoes and cut into batons about 1.5 cm thick THREE Toss the sweet potatoes in a table spoon of olive oil, salt, pepper and splash of balsamic vinegar (if to hand) and bang them in the oven FOUR Come back 25 minutes later and pre heat a pan on a high heat (grill pan if you have it) FIVE drizzle some olive oil on to your steak and season generously with salt and pepper SIX Slap your steak in the pan, turn down the heat slightly and cook on each side for 2 1/2 mins SEVEN Leave your steak to rest for 5 mins and assemble your sandwich fillings how you like EIGHT Slice up your steak, fill your sandwiches with the steak, pouring over the left over juices

Perfect served in front of the telly. Not the ultimate steak sandwich but something I managed to throw together and make a steak go further. Any questions, give me a shout.

Leave a Reply

